This is so demoralising

I was so tired my last post, and yay…not, I have been afflicted with gastro. While, I should be napping, I am just feeling unsettled about what has been happening so far.

As you have heard, the phone call between Donald Trump and Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull was leaked to the american press. Whilst, Mr Turnbull said that everything was A OK with the agreement, Australians were left like a stunned pigeon when news broke out about this leak.

I do not like my Prime Minister, in fact he, or rather the Liberal Party has done a terrible job governing the country, particularly in regards to the current issue of the debt welfare scandal. But I’m not going to talk about that now. I’m going to talk about what has transpired in the past 48 hours.

Australia IS AWFUL when it comes to the humanitarian issues. Australia and Trump’s USA are quite similar, I’d say Australia are ahead in that regard. WE have offshore detention where the people held there are driven to insanity.

Our government tried a similar amendment proposal of bans for asylum seekers/ refugees —correction, life time bans for those who arrived by boats. This includes that if the asylum seekers/refugees  eventually settled elsewhere,  they cannot enter, in the future for a business trip or as a tourist  . That is how cruel my country is.

Anyway, whoever leaked the conversation, good. In humiliating Malcolm Turnbull the talk on this issue has become news and now we can discuss the solution and resolve the stupid phone call..

The solution for this US-AUS refugee agreement is quite simple. Instead of adding woe to the minds of these human beings  stuck on Manus and Nauru. Settle THESE LIVING, BREATHING, THINKING HUMAN BEINGS IN AUSTRALIA.That’s all the Turnbull Government has to do. SIMPLE.

 

My problem with the phone call.

While Trump is right that it’s a “dumb deal” he doesn’t get away with it either.

Australia has been a staunch ally for 4 decades. Not saying that previous Australian governments had no heated phone calls, but this was stunning.

When news first broke out, I didn’t know how to process what I was reading.

That led onto me feeling confused.

That confusion turned into outrage.

Quit trying to make it all about yourself, there are lives on the line.

He had spoken about the phone calls earlier, and I was quite offended.

He mentioned along the lines that allies have been taking advantage of their relationship with the US. I had to scoff at that. WHEN HAS AUSTRALIA TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF US RELATIONS?

I, for one, along with many other Australian disagree. In every war the US has been in, Australia has fought along side them, even when the Australian people did not want to be involved in the Iraq war.

I just want to note that, while my government is being a horrible nation and picking who/which refugees can enter the country, for some odd reason, the government who are so anti-boat people/asylum seeker/refugee agreed to help the US resettle Central American refugees last year in September.  I don’t know whether that is still standing but from just recalling this, it makes me think this deal struck between Obama-Turnbull was probably one of those ‘You scratch my back, I scratch yours’ type.

Whether or not you like this, this is a matter of securing a tighter alliance, it’s what allies do, co-operate and Donald Trump just put a dent in it.

As I said before, I don’t like Malcolm Turnbull and his administration but the fact that there are reports of Donald Trump bragging about his Electoral College win, that this deal will ruin him politically is completely inappropriate. There are  lives on the line, it’s not all about him. He’s making it all about himself.

To end a call abruptly when Turnbull was trying to steer the conversation to discuss other serious global and military issues, that action alone by Donald Trump–wanting to cut the call short because Turnbull disagreed with him and making him lose his cool is/are demoralising for the entire world.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “This is so demoralising

  1. This is part of the process we all have to go through, realizing that President Trump is mentally unstable. He can’t control his impulses. If something, ANYTHING irritates him, he can’t refrain from lashing out irrationally in response. At some point the members of his own party must realize the man simply cannot be reasoned with. I don’t know how long that will take, or how much damage his immature acts will cause before then.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t speak for the whole of Australia but it is bonkers. When the results came rolling in, wasn’t surprised but it became a reality that people actually voted for a narcissist. It’s not even two weeks and he’s created a clusterfuck of a many situation.
      Australia are in the same boat, we voted for a Trump-like idiot too and he pretty much screwed up everything over the years. he was eventually replaced with Turnbull because Abbott wasn’t getting the approval ratings.

      But to respond to the first line of your comment, I now understand why Ivanka Trump and Jared Kushner moved to DC, to babysit her dad, and it’s not working because he has Bannon hovering around him.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment